World Laureates Association

Frame 48095803

The World Laureates Association (WLA) is a non-governmental and non-profit international organization. It is one of the world's highest-profile organizations of laureates that brings together preeminent scientists from a diverse range of disciplines, including mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, computer science, and other fields.

The WLA has around 200 distinguished laureates, among whom are recipients of prestigious awards, such as the Nobel Prize, the Turing Award, the Wolf Prize, the Lasker Award, the Breakthrough Prize, the Fields Medal, the WLA Prize, the MacArthur Fellowship, the Canada Gairdner International Award, the Kyoto Prize, the World Food Prize, the Eni Award, and the Abel Prize. Our members come from over 80 of the world's leading laboratories and research institutions, spanning 25 countries.

Upholding the vision of "Science and Technology for the Common Destiny of Mankind," the WLA is committed to its three missions: "promote basic science, advocate for international cooperation, and support the development of youth." To achieve these goals, the WLA actively fosters close scientific collaboration and academic exchange among esteemed scientists and scholars around the globe. 

The WLA Family aspires to establish the "Five Pillars": a platform underpinned by the WLA and the WLA Foundation, a bridge connected via the WLA Forum, a window exhibited by the WLA Prize, a channel communicated through the WLA Journals, and an engine powered by the WLA Labs.

The WLA is an autonomous organization, fully governed and managed by a distinguished group of scientists, led by an Executive Committee comprising one Chair and several Vice-Chairs. A Council is established to provide administrative and operational support to the Association.

WLA Chair: Roger Kornberg, 2006 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 

WLA Vice-Chairs:  Michael Levitt, 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry; Randy Schekman, 2013 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine; Steven Chu, 1997 Nobel Laureate in Physics 

WLA Chief Director: Mr. Tung Chee-Hwa 

WLA Executive Director & WLA Shanghai Center Chair: Mr. Wu Xiangdong

Our vision:

Science and Technology 

for the Common Destiny of Mankind

Our mission:

Promote Basic Science
Advocate for International Cooperation
Support the Development of Youth


Tel: 021-54100238

Postal Code: 200233

Address: Floor 17, Pan Pacific Ocean Mansion, 1250 West Beijing Road, Jingan District, Shanghai, China

Copyright © WLA Forum. All rights reserved.| Privacy Policy